4 comments on “Catching the Reader’s Eye: HTML Email
  1. Nice post, Matthew. Do you know if there are any issues with delivery using this method? We use a service for the tracking of our author emails (we use a standard WordPress list for our book promotion websites. The biggest issue for us is tracking opens and engagement.

    That being said, if you self-host WordPress, you can use Subscribe2 : https://subscribe2.wordpress.com/

    For the really technically inclined author, there is PHPList. It’s a pretty good service, but requires more configuration and time than I was willing to put into it.

    ~Jack

    • Matthew Iden says:

      Hi Jack – Thanks for stopping by. (I love Indie Books List, btw).

      To answer your question, this method is really low-brow and I wouldn’t rec. it for anyone interested in tracking metrics or doing many emails. As Maiilchimp explains in their how-to article, you can get in trouble hosting your own mail server and sending out flocks of HTML email (excessive images, for instance, are often criteria for getting flagged as a spammer…put 5 cover images in an email and you might be in trouble!).

      For my purposes, I wasn’t quite ready to go all Mailchimp in my promotion…I just wanted to contact my inner circle + 1 degree of separation. Probably not more than 200-300 people. Anything more or more often than that…time to go to a service provider.

      Thanks for the other links, too. I’d heard of PHPList but never toyed with it. I’m just technical enough to get myself in trouble/waste days on something…time and effort better spent writing!

  2. I use Mailchimp and absolutely love them. Because they take a hardline on spammers on their network, their deliverability rates are great.

    • Matthew Iden says:

      Hey Brian – yep, I like Mailchimp and love their snarky/Gen-X way of talking you through issues and instructions.

      I really need to sit down and concentrate on using them to construct campaigns. At the time I was first looking into mail promotion, however, my head was already swimming with social media, websites, and publishing options. The time is near, however, when I need to professionalize the approach and the ‘Chimp or CC will be the way to go.

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Get a free Marty Singer short story when you sign up here. Just 1-2 emails per month: giveaways, contests, & new releases!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

