Sword of Kings goes to #3!


Thanks to a lot of promotion and support, my two day sale of fantasy short story Sword of Kings went to #3 on the Amazon Best Seller list of  “Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Fiction > Fantasy > Epic” (and #201 on the overall list).
The rating will fall quickly, since the sale ended at midnight, but I kept good company for a while (see screen shot…and please ignore the Pampers ad)!

Thank you to everyone who downloaded and reviewed (or will review) SoK…I am really overwhelmed right now and can’t tell you how much I appreciate the support!

The next two day sale–of my short story Assassin–has just started (12 midnight EST) and goes for two days as well. Details will be posted very soon!

Update
I checked the lists (of course) around 7:30 a.m. EST and was tickled that SoK has made it to #1 on the Epic Fantasy list. My hope for the”cascading sale,” as you might have guessed, is to keep the first story buoyed up by this amazing support from readers…while my second and then third story bounce up as well.

It’s not out of the question to have all three in the Top 5 of Epic Fantasy at the same time if things fire in the right order. I’ll be writing an analysis next week of the experiment. Fingers crossed!

Writer of crime fiction, psychological drama, and dark humor.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in My Books & Titles
7 comments on “Sword of Kings goes to #3!
  1. Wow, Matt. That’s big time. Please remember me when you’re a big shot…

    • Matthew Iden says:

      LOL, thanks Stan, but no worries there. SoK was at #349,776 two days ago and I imagine it will dip back down there once the buzz from the sale lets up.

      But it’s a great example of what good promotion will do…I’ve been planning this sale for 2 weeks now and put in several hours of work promoting it in advance. I’ll do an analysis for everyone after the 6 day sale is over.

      • Sweet. Would love to read your analysis.

        Oh, not sure I ever told you, but your reviews/step-by-step guides on CreateSpace helped a ton!

      • Matthew Iden says:

        Will do and thanks, I’m glad the CS guide helped. Print can still be a bear.

        BTW, I just read recently (Dean Wesley Smith’s blog) that independent booksellers HATE it when books don’t have a price permanently on the cover, as buyers don’t believe them when they say “10% off” or “$2.00” off when they have nothing to compare it to.

        Something to think about when designing your (back) cover…consider putting your price on it.

  2. Wo3lf says:

    Good stuff, Matthew. Congratulations. Your marketing campaign brought movement and with that movement you created awareness. For a long term game, I’d say it paid off beautifully.

    • Matthew Iden says:

      Thank you, Woelf. I’m very interested to see how Seven Into The Bleak will do with the ramp up promotions of the other two stories preceding it. Your help was instrumental in getting Seven published…many thanks again.

  3. Congratulations!
    Just read SoK and loved it…all over a bit quickly in some ways, as you have the start of something special there (like a series/trilogy!). SoK is a baeutifully complete story that leaves with more questions…
    OK…must feed me & the cats, but the reviews will follow

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Get a free Marty Singer short story when you sign up here. Just 1-2 emails per month: giveaways, contests, & new releases!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

