Book Critique: Robert Parker’s Looking for Rachel Wallace


In honor of Robert B. Parker’s birthday (Sep. 17), I’m re-running this analysis I did of one of his best novels, Looking for Rachel Wallace. Enjoy!

matthew iden

Earlier this week, I talked about the usefulness of the book critique to help refine my writing. I thought I’d show a critique I did on one of crime fiction writer Robert Parker’s best Spenser novels, Looking for Rachel Wallace, a book that has helped me immensely as I try to make a career in the same field.

If the writing seems abbreviated or sloppy or informal, that’s the way I write these so as to better understand the critique later. It’s essentially a monologue I have with myself on paper; if I wrote any more formally or self-consciously, I feel that I’d lose something in the study. Unlike my guide in the previous post, there’s not much in the Issues section and there’s no Summary…I think I cover everything in the other sections. If I get a positive response, I’ll post a more complete critique on another novel.

View original post 949 more words

Writer of crime fiction, psychological drama, and dark humor.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Excellence in Writing, Tips for eAuthors

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Get a free Marty Singer short story when you sign up here. Just 1-2 emails per month: giveaways, contests, & new releases!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

