Slightly new covers for the Marty Singer series


Singer_books_newI was told recently by several people that they couldn’t tell from my covers which books were Marty Singer books (hint: they all are). Although I like my covers, I had to admit that there was no single unifying feature to them that identified them as belonging to the same series.

I tried many different schemes, but was leery of doing a complete redesign of every cover because a) I would lose some brand recognition from those readers that DID recognize a Singer book and b) I’ve invested several hundred dollars in stock photography in my covers that I didn’t need to lose.

So here’s the result. Although it’s a bit of a hack to simply slap a banner saying what something is, I think it does the job, keeps the brand, and ties the books together. What do you think? Let me know in the Comments!

Writer of crime fiction, psychological drama, and dark humor.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in My Books & Titles
13 comments on “Slightly new covers for the Marty Singer series
  1. I think a # on each book in the same spot “might” have worked, but considering that the impact of the image and design wasn’t lost, and they definitely look “of a set” I’d say you did quite a good job on those Matthew. πŸ˜‰

    • Matthew Iden says:

      Thanks, Adan! You wouldn’t believe the number of other versions I did, a few with #’s on them. Nothing looked quite right in that vein, though. It’s funny how a particular design will get in your head and can’t be dislodged…I can’t imagine these books looking any other way. πŸ™‚

  2. Ralph Rowland says:

    Matt, For those readers who focus on “Marty Singer” as the basis for continuing interest, I say, sure. For me, however, I look to see who the author is on the cover. And that, brother, be you. So, ’nuff said.

  3. Vicki H says:

    Yup. It works. I have all of them but the last. Now I just have to make time to read the ones I haven’t. lol.

  4. shygirl19748 says:

    I definitely agree with you. Showing that each book is A Marty Singer Mystery just looks…right. I can’t picture the covers denoting Book 1, Book 2, etc. Nicely done!

  5. Gary Iden says:

    Don’t forget to change your photo on your blog,too.

    xxoo

  6. Leanne says:

    Hi Matthew, I just discovered you on Amazon last week, and thanks to a mini holiday and an extracted tooth I have just finished the last Marty Singer book today. I am so happy I stumbled upon you, it was the reviews by all the authors I have loved for years that made me curious about you. I was hooked by the end of the first chapter of book one and have remain absorbed to the last page of book 5. Now to start reading your stand alone books and to wait in anticipation for book 6 of the Marty Singer series! Leanne, Adelaide South Australia πŸ™‚

    • Matthew Iden says:

      Hi Leanne! I’m so happy you took the time to write and, while I wouldn’t wish a toothache on anyone, I’m happy yours resulted in having the time to read about Marty. πŸ™‚

      I hope you’re recovering and are reading for pleasure now, and not distraction! I’m working on a (finished, non Marty) standalone book I wrote several years ago and busy outlining two other books, Marty #6 and another standalone…let’s call it Project X, lol. More news to come in the weeks ahead.

      Thanks again and I hope you feel better!
      matt

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Get a free Marty Singer short story when you sign up here. Just 1-2 emails per month: giveaways, contests, & new releases!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

